African American Postal League United for Success!

Southern Region

Hello Southern Region A-Plus Members…..

Thank you all for coming to Houston Texas, October 4-8, 2017 at the Hyatt Regency North Houston and attending the “29th Annual A-PLUS Southern Region Conference.” The activities planned were on target with our theme: “Explore Your Potentials and Sky-Rocket to New Heights.”

I hope you enjoyed yourself, found the sessions along with workshops informative and valuable so that you could share with others that unfortunately were unable to attend the conference.

A lot of hard work went into making this conference run smoothly. So, I would like to especially thank Chairperson Barbara DillardCo-Chairperson Charleen Jones, Houston’s Chapter President James Jones and the thirty- plus committee members for the ‘outstanding job’ they performed as host of the twenty-ninth Annual Southern Region Conference. If you missed the conference, below is a short recap:

We kicked off the conference on Thursday Morning with the First Timers’ Breakfast that had an attendance of about twenty five (25) first timers! Following that event was the opening session with a dynamic presentation from Ms. Karlett GilbertSenior Plant Manager of the Houston Texas District. Gail Lofton, past National Parliamentarian was next with a motivating presentation titled, “What’s your Brand Part II.” Also on the roster for Thursday was Ms. Janet Lawrence HesterLearning Development and Diversity Specialist from Capital Metro Area Operations in Washington DC and Mrs. Jean LovejoySenior Plant Manager of the Mississippi District. Last but not least was Ms. Denise CameronHuman Resource Manager from the Dallas Texas District with an extended session on ‘Labor Relations.’  On Friday we opened the session with the Executive panel led by Karlett Gilbert and David Camp followed by the Roundtable Discussions where attendees and managers both engaged in discussions on “what it takes to move up in the postal service.” 

On Friday Afternoon, Dr. Joshua Colin, Eastern Area Vice-President took to the podium as our “Luncheon Keynote Speaker.” Afterwards, there were over twenty attendees who participated in our trade mark training session known as the “Spot Light on You.”

Saturday we celebrated our Annual Awards Banquet and below is a breakdown of the awards:

Special Host City Award for Outstanding Community Service was presented to Leana TaylorIOTA Phi Lambda Sorority.

Special Host City Award for Outstanding Service as a Postal Manager was presented to Bobby Collins, Retired Postmaster of Houston Texas.

Top five Chapters with the largest number of members:

1) Memphis Tennessee Chapter

2) Atlanta Georgia Chapter

3) Houston Texas Chapter

4) Nashville Tennessee Chapter

5) Jackson Mississippi Chapter

Most Improved Chapter for 2017:

Houston Texas Chapter

Presidents’ Awards were presented to the following members for Super Outstanding service for A-PLUS during 2017: 

1) Bertrand Tate and the Memphis Tennessee Chapter

2) Josephine Wooley, President of the Atlanta Chapter

3) James Jones, President of the Houston Texas Chapter

4) Shannon Kelley, President of the Nashville Tennessee Chapter

5) Pamela Lowery, President of the Jackson Mississippi Chapter

If you noticed, all five of the awards above went to chapter Presidents with the “most members.” They not only had the most members, but all of their reports were submitted timely, frequent communication with their members through emails and copied me on everything sent out. Also, training sessions were held during their monthly chapter meetings along with so much more which contributed to their overall success.

Barbara Dillard and Charleen Jones, Chairperson and Co- Chairperson, both received Presidents Awards for an outstanding job spearheading the committees to make the conference very successful.

Terrance Lewis, Treasurer of the Tampa Florida Chapter, received a special Presidents Award for all the work he does for his chapter. Terrance submits his reports timely, his President’s reports timely, sends out all of the communication that I send him to the membership and many other things that haven’t been mentioned.  Terrance is retired and works diligently for A-PLUS and his chapter. Last year O. C. Sanders, Treasurer of the Monroe Chapter won this Award for doing the exact same thing that Terrance is doing. They both are retired but still works diligently to help others get what they want. “My hat is off to both of those guys.

The last Award was a very, very special one. The Award went to Wanda LaBarre who is also retired. She is the Southern Region Sergeant at Arms and past President of the Memphis Tennessee Chapter. Wanda is my “clean-up Batter” and she hits the ball out of the park on every assignment that I give her. She has helped countless members all over the Southern Region with their eCareer Profiles, Interviewing Techniques, how to Dress for Success and tips on how to pass the Supervisor’s examination (Postal Service Test 642). Also, Wanda oversees the Memphis, Nashville and Jackson Mississippi chapters very well for me. All three of them made the top five chapters for 2017. That is not half of what Wanda has done for this organization, she has also helped a large number of employees get promotions and detail assignments. She was truly deserving of the ‘Special President’s Award.’

Again, thank you for your time and support. We look forward to seeing all of you next year at the 30th Annual A-PLUS Southern Region Conferencein Atlanta Georgia.

James D Mitchell

Southern Region President


A-PLUS Southern Region

PO BOX 683

Conroe TX 77305