African American Postal League United for Success!

Dot Sharpe Scholarship

About Dorothy Douglas-Sharpe, MS

February 11, 1938 –December 10, 1996

In 1987, Dorothy D. Sharpe was a Postal Career Executive Service (PCES) Executive serving as the General Manager, Affirmative Action Division, Headquarters.She was previously a Diversity Development Specialist and Civil & Equal Rights Activist.

Dorothy Douglas-Sharpe, affectionately called, not just Dot, but “Dot Sharpe” by everyone who knew her, was lovingly adopted by Mrs. Carrie Douglas Pennington, of Memphis, Tennessee, when she was three (3) years old.She attended Porter Elementary School, graduated from Booker T. Washington High School in 1955. She later moved to Detroit, Michigan to attend Wayne State University. In 1986, she earned a Master’s Degree in Public Administration, from American University, Washington, DC, while participating in the Key Executive Program.

While in Detroit, MI, she met and married Walter Robert Sharpe. To this union, two (2) daughters were born; Denise Yvette, and Valarie Louise Sharpe.

Dot Sharpe’s career with the US Postal Service began in 1964, and what a prestigiously stellar career it turned out to be! Beginning as secretary, she served in five (5) functional areas in the Memphis Regional Office. She was promoted to EEO Investigator in 1978, and from there advanced to Southern Region Women’s Program Manager, National Women’s Program Manager, then, General Manager of the Affirmative Action Division, at US Postal Service Headquarters, Washington, DC.

She was well known throughout the Agency and without for her efforts in promoting the principles of equal employment opportunity and affirmative action. During her illustrious career, she successfully implemented, administered and monitored nationwide Postal Policies and actions to ensure compliance with EEO, Affirmative Action, and Diversity Development. In 1995, she assisted in developing the Postal Service’s presentation material for the United Nations Forum on Women in Beijing China.For her outstanding efforts she’s received numerous Honors and Awards, including the prestigious Postmaster General’s Award for Executive Achievement.She was a founding member of A-PLUS (African American Postal League United for Success), a lifetime member of Federally Employed Women, and founding member of NETWORK, a mentoring organization for those seeking upward mobility. Her gift of generous giving of herself on behalf of others, and those she’s assisted with career advancement is impossible to even attempt numbering. What is known is the outpouring of appreciation attributed to her love, dedication, and commitment to assist others whenever or wherever needed.

She was a member of Les Neul Femmes and Holidays Inc., a lifetime active member of the NAACP, the Urban League, working with multiple coalitions dealing with cause and effects of discriminatory practices in law enforcement. One of the Ministers who officiated at Dot’s funeralservice was the Honorable, Reverend, Benjamin Lawson Hooks, President, NAACP (1977-1992, retired). I think Dot would have smiled to know that.Sweet memories and to rejoice in having known her, devoted and loving fiancé, James (Jim) Oliver, three (3) daughters, the late Valarie L. Sharpe-Powell, Denise Y. Sharpe-Bland and Myquita D. Jones, all of Memphis, three (3) grandchildren and her entire Postal and A-PLUS Family.


National Scholarship Recipient Listing

Period Covered: 2003-2016


(Look At Me Now)


Mikayla B Jones

Stephen Davis

Faith Johnson


Mikayla B Jones

Maiah Lorrayane Dixon

Malik Jaron Sanders

Uriah I Scott

Aka Outley


Sidney Mann

Mikayla B Jones

Maiah Dixon

Brittanei Wells

James Ball


Britany Rose Davis

Carl Walton Jr

Deavin Taylor

Maci Joseph

Mikayla B Jones


Breyana Gibson

Jason Harris

Michelle Mann

James William Reede III

Denzel X Caldwell


Renee’ Henderson

Kelly G Mabon

James Reede III

Jonathan Wall

Markila Witherspoon


Chelsea Black

Yuri G Hodges

Jenesis Lafarcorde

Rodney Maclin Jr

Essence White


Briana Bonner

Britney Craig

Kiarra Jones

Alexander A Rodger

Andre Sturges Jr


Jason Harris

Devon Kennedy

Cormac Parker Jr

Shirrell Smith

Erin Smith


Kalyn Hunter

Tobi Lee

Cordell Walton


Aleidra Allen

Ashley Jackson

Sydaea Redwine

Norris Ryan

Ashley Rogers

Rasheedah Woodard


Kiera Magee

Norris Ryan

Miracle Ross

Rasheedah Woodard


Norris Ryan

Mojnica Tapia

Rasheedah Woodard


Ch’iavani Case

Tiffany Stubbs

Norris Ryan

Rasheedah Woodard


Kimeisha Crum

Sortorria Rayford


As part of the A-PLUS Organization Communications Plan we are highlighting the present
status ofpast National Dorothy “Dot” Sharpe scholarship recipients.

In order to achieve this, we are requesting your assistance.

Regions, chapters and individual members who have sponsored students who were recipients of the scholarship, we need your assistance in getting the information.

Below is a form which asks for information to be used in providing the requested information.

Please include a current photograph (300 DPI or more) for the best resolution.

Send the information to:

Vertie Woodard

5434 11th Avenue

Los Angeles, CA 90043-2512